“One of the irreplaceable things I would grab on the way out of a fire…”

chronicles-bowl-zimbabwe

“It is a set of hand carved bowls from Zimbabwe. I lived there a few years ago and worked in a rural town on a HIV project. There were some projects focusing on livelihoods in the surrounding area and hand made crafts like this provide women and families with independence and income. I took the team of volunteers to Victoria Falls which is one of the most incredible natural sites in the world and I picked up these two bowls that had been made by local women. They mean a lot to me so would be one of the irreplaceable things that I would grab on the way out of a fire.”

I get excited by each and every submission to The Chronicles of Brixton. With some, it’s the paths of discovery they take me on (see Barbara Jordan and The Chuckle Brothers) With others, like Alice’s bowls, it’s knowing that something really spectacular will appear when the image is repeated and spun. Here’s how Alice’s photo turned out when it became a building block for The Chronicles of Brixton:

chronicles-brixton-african-bowl-zimbabwe-pattern-fractal-kaleidoscope-digital-art-design

There’s still 2 days for you to become part of The Chronicles of Brixton! If you’d like to see your most treasured item on display as part of an enormous digital collage, send a photo and the story behind it to me at Robyn@archiemaclondon.co.uk

The Chronicles of Brixton will be in display in The Phoenix Cafe, Coldharbour Lane throughout London Design Festival (19-27 September)

It is a set of hand carved bowls from Zimbabwe. I lived there a few years ago and worked in a rural town on a HIV project. There were some projects focusing on livelihoods in the surrounding area and hand made crafts like this provide women and families with independence and income. I took the team of volunteers to Victoria Falls which is one of the most incredible natural sites in the world and I picked up these two bowls that had been made by local women. They mean a lot to me so would be one of the irreplaceable things that I would grab on the way out of a fire.

ne of the most incredible natural sites in the world and I picked up these two bowls that had been made by local women. They mean a lot to me so would be one of the irreplaceable things that I would grab on the way out of a fire.”

Leave a Reply

